Social Icons

Facebook Twiter Pinterest Blog Mail

Featured Posts

Friday, September 20, 2013

Review: The Midnight Heir (The Bane Chronicles Part #4)

Add to Goodreads
Purchase on Amazon

I have had the opportunity to read each one of these and thought I would write a review while I am thinking about it.

Firstly, I absolutely love Cassandra Clare's writing style and thoroughly enjoyed The Mortal Instruments and the Clockwork Series. I am always the last person to jump on board of awesome series, but that's ok.

The Bane Chronicles is written by Sarah Rees Brennan and Cassandra Clare. I feel Sarah does a good job of keeping the heart and soul of Magnus' character. I started to fall in love with that character halfway through The Mortal Instruments series and I have really enjoyed reading these. The Midnight Heir was wonderful. It gave another look to Will and Tessa's life together and their child, James Herondale. I love how Magnus makes me laugh in these little glimpses into his life. The backstory is superb!

If you are a lover of the Mortal Instruments world, I would recommend you to pick up these novellas. They are only available online in e-book format (which is a little disappointing considering each one is 2.99, and there are 8 of them ($24 bucks total!). I feel that is a marketing scheme to get more money from the readers, but I digress. I can't complain too much because although I see through the ploy to earn more casholla, I am the fool who purchases them. Whenever the series is finished they plan to release a novel with all of the stories so you may want to wait until then, but I couldn't.

5 Cats!

Saturday, March 9, 2013

Although we are late, it's a new year!

Hello readers of the witchy world! We thought we would post a quick update to let you know that we are back from our small sabbatical. We did have many books in our to-read list. If your review has not been posted, it is because the reviewer decided to not review the book. This could be for several different reasons.

1. The reviewer did not particularly care for the novel.
2. The review had no substance.

Our goal is to post reviews that specifically list the most wicked and most redeeming qualities of a novel. Moving forward, we will be *very* selective in our review process. Honestly, we were so overwhelmed in the first few months that the five of us couldn't keep up with the requests. We do appreciate each author that gave us the opportunity to read their works.

Until future notice: please do not send e-copies of your book without it being approved. You will automatically be moved to the end of the pile. We have decided to read books that peak our interests and sending a novel with the assumption one shall read it, is not very nice. So please do not burden us with books we did not request.

Our goals for 2013 includes updating the look of the site and reviewing at least 52 novels. We do have a netgalley account and will be requesting novels to read once our TBR list has decreased a bit.

Thanks for sticking with us...

The witches are back! 

Tuesday, December 25, 2012

Witchy Review: One by One by Phil Tucker

Title: One by One
Author: Phil Tucker
Published: Create Space March 22, 2012
Format: Purchased by Reviewer.
Awesome sentence structure. It was a refreshing read that didn't make me wish (only for a moment) that I was a pre-teen or YA fantasy reader just so I could relate to the author's motives.

The title refers to civilization disappearing one by one and how those remaining are left to cope. You'll read about a grieving son, a heartless dictator, and a faithful man of god. You'll read about commitments failing and relationships at their weakest and strongest and still wonder what is going to happen in the end. Though you really know what's going to happen in the end.

Many refer to this novel as Post-Apocalyptic but I feel that gives the plot an unnecessary and unfair expectation of a grandiose resolution. And depending on your style of imagination, you may or may not find what you're expecting. Therefore, I am 100% happy with the last two chapters of the book. The final sentence should've been nothing else. If you like reading books that simply tell a story and won't bog your reading hours down by page after page of world-building, and if you like to constantly try to figure everything out, especially with the plot being seeded in reality, the this novel is for you.

Witchy Rating: 5 Black Cats

This review has been brought to you by Maleficent Witchy Reviews

Thursday, December 13, 2012

Feature & Follow Bloghop #5 : Squirt some tears

Feature and Follow Friday is a blog hop hosted by the wonderful and amazing Parajunkie and Alison Can Read


A: I know this is going to sound a bit silly... but I am not really a crier. I think the one that stuck out to me the most was the final installment of the Harry Potter series. Once Snape's character made a full circle, I just couldn't contain myself. I remember reading at work and had to get up and go to the bathroom so I could cry in peace. Maybe I should start crying more often? hehe! I know it is an old one, but definitely a good one :)

I wish each and every one of you a happy holidays! If you follow... I will return the favor :) <3

Witchy Review: Tough Girl by Libby Heily

Title: Tough Girl
Author: Libby Heily
Published: Nov. 2012
Words: 57707 (approximate)
Language: english
Format: Given by Author

Danger lurks everywhere in eleven year old Reggie's world—from the bully next door to the unwanted attentions of a creep at school. Raised by her mentally ill mother, Reggie is left to fend for herself in a rough neighborhood. She escapes in daydreams, battling aliens with her alter ego, Tough Girl.


The moment I started reading "Tough Girl," I couldn't--and wouldn't!--put it down. In fact, I've been done with it for a few days but didn't know how to wrap my head around the novel enough to begin to review it.

Reggie's story is so perfectly told by Heily. Reggie, as the synopsis tells us, doesn't have the easiest of lives. She is the victim of frequent bullying at school, lives on the rough side of town where she falls asleep to the sounds of sirens, drug deals, and her neighbors being beat up. Her mother is no more than a person frozen in time to a couch lost in the glare of a broken digital alarm clock.

Reggie's only solace is Tough Girl--it's not her name--it's a warning. Tough Girl is everything Reggie wants to be--beautiful, an intergalactic war hero, the person defending her family's honor. Tough Girl stays close to Reggie at all times, warning her of the upcoming danger, only disappearing to go to her home planet and fight when she is needed. Slowly, Reggie begins to come out of her shell and make friends with a boy from school and her new, fancy neighbors.

You can't help but love Reggie. Heily writes in a way that your heartstrings get wrapped around her to the point that you want to reach out and save her yourself. The story weaves seamlessly between fantasy and reality and the lines blur exactly when necessary.

To say any more would spoil the story as it unfolds, but trust me--even though it seems evident that Heily's target audience is Young Adult, anyone can pick this novel up and adore it. I can't wait to see more from this author.

Witchy Rating: 5 Black Cats (BRAVO!)

Review brought to you by Galinda at Witchy Reviews

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Cover Reveal: Blood Rush (Demimonde #2) by Ash Krafton

I am totally excited to be a part of this cover reveal. I reviewed the first book here. It was a nice surprise with lots of adventure and sexy vampires. I real love Ash's writers voice, she has way with words. Looking forward to the release of Blood Rush. For now, you can add it to your goodreads pile and gobble up the first one.

Blood Rush
(Demimonde #2)

Sophie doesn’t believe in happily ever after. These days, she’d settle for alive after sunrise.
Advice columnist and newly-appointed oracle to the demivampire, Sophie Galen has more issues than a Cosmo collection: a new mentor with a mean streak, a werewolf stalker she can’t shake, and a relationship with her ex’s family that redefines the term complicated. And then there’s her ex himself, who is more interested in playing leader of the vampire pack than in his own salvation.
Becoming a better oracle is tough enough, but when Sophie encounters a deadly enemy – one she never dreamed of facing – it will take everything she’s ever learned in order to survive.

Ash Krafton

Ash Krafton
Ash Krafton
Ash Krafton is a writer of all things spec fic. She believes spectacular endings make the best beginnings… Why not? One billion black holes can’t be wrong. Her first novel BLEEDING HEARTS: Book One of the Demimonde was published in March 2012. The manuscript earned finalist distinction in several Romance Writers of America 2011 competitions and has been awarded several other awards. In addition to novel-length fiction, Ash enjoys writing poetry and short prose, some of which earned big ups by CNW/FFWA in 2008 and 2011 as well as the Abilene Writers Guild in 2010. Ms. Krafton made her publishing debut in Spring 2009 when her poetry appeared in Poe Little Thing; her work has since appeared in several other journals including Niteblade, Ghostlight Magazine, The Skyline Review, and Silver Blade. One of her poems was selected as a Pushcart prize nominee. She’s a Published Member of Pennwriters and is co-editor of her area’s WordPress blog. She also contributes to Query Tracker’s blog. Ash resides with her family in a rural town in the heart of the Pennsylvania anthracite coal region. She’ll never leave, either, because coal is just another example of a spectacular ending waiting for a brilliant beginning. (It’s kinda fitting.) And because, like a black hole, once you’re in… you can never get out..
Website – Blog – Twitter – Goodreads

Friday, November 30, 2012

Feature & Follow: Literary Crush

Disclaimer: I am currently blogging "on the go." Whenever I get home this afternoon, the plan is to spruce this entry up. Right now, it will be fairly basic.

Special thanks goes to Parajunkie and Alison Can Read for hosting such a wonderful weekly hop!

Q: Activity! Who is your to-die-for book crush? What do you think they look like? Add an image to make us all happy.

A: I would have to say, Matthew Clairmont from the Discovery of Witches. He has a sexy accent and loves Diana even though they are different species. Not to mention he has looks to die for, he's hundreds of years old, and loves children. Vamp and Witch love, gotta love it!

I will post pictures as soon as I get home! So who is your literary boyfriend??

Sample text

Sample Text


Sample Text